Chesham United Logo
Chesham United Football Club
Official Website

Annual General Meeting 2010

Members of Chesham United Supporters’ Trust voted unanimously at their Annual General Meeting last night (Thursday 7th October) to press ahead with plans to take on full ownership of their football club.

At present the majority 60% shareholding remains held by former Chairman Charles Manchester and his colleague Mike Dickson. However, since the summer the Supporters’ Trust has been in day-to-day control of the club after being handed the voting rights for this stake when Charles Manchester stood down from the Board.

Supporters’ Trust Chairman, Giles Stevenson, outlined details of a share purchase programme which will gradually enable the fans’ group to invest funds into the football club in return for an increased shareholding to take their stake from the current 36.3% to become majority owners. “It’s important to stress that this new share issue is only available for purchase by the Supporters’ Trust,” explained Stevenson. “It means that all the money that the Trust raises will still be invested directly into sustaining and developing the football club but in return it will also purchase new shares until we, as fans, hold a majority stake in our club.”

One of the key points is that no individual will take any profit out of the club through this scheme. Alan Calder, a founder member of the Supporters’ Trust who took over as club Chairman in May, told fans, “In the past the Trust has raised money to help the Club without getting anything in return. Now our fans will be taking ownership of the club itself through that fundraising.”

The first big fundraising event to purchase new shares will be the annual Fireworks Display at The Meadow on 5th November which the Trust will now be running so that all profits can go towards supporting the club and buying shares in the process.

The current Supporters’ Trust committee was unanimously re-elected for another term with Simon Robertson and Keith Pittman being voted onto the committee as new representatives