Evostik League South Logo

The Evo-Stik League South Premier Division

Tuesday 17th October 2017

The Meadow, Chesham

Attendance 192

Match Report By Simon Newbury

Chesham United
St Neots Town
Man Of The Match
Zack Reynolds
Hafed Al-Droubi 1 Mike Emery Chesham secured their third consecutive draw in a fast-paced encounter.

There were three changes to the Chesham team, all enforced with Danny Green and Adam Watkins injured and Joe Iaciofano suspended after his red card at Bishop’s Stortford. They were replaced by Scott McGleish, who was back after four weeks out with injury, Zack Reynolds and Jon-Jo Bates. Both sides had their moments early on, Luke Knight blasting over for St Neots while at the other end David Hutton’s 25-yard free kick was just wide. After 12 minutes Chesham took the lead when Oran Swales got round the back of the visitors’ defence and crossed towards Scott McGleish at the near post, and the ball rolled over the goal-line with defender Taylor Parr seeming to get the final touch. However four minutes later Parr rose unmarked in the Chesham area to head the equaliser from Jack Bradshaw’s corner. The remainder of the half passed without incident apart from a long-range effort by David Hutton on 41 minutes, that beat keeper Mike Emery but came back off the bar.

The visitors had the upper hand for most of the second half. In the 55th minute Hafed Al-Droubi had to make a smart save to deny Dylan Williams, then Williams cut in from the left but shot tamely wide from a good position. Chesham came back with Oran Swales finding Lewis Toomey in space on the left, and Toomey shot towards the far post but Emery got down smartly to his left to save. However St Neots were still looking the more dangerous and Hafed Al-Droubi fisted away a shot on the turn from Tom Meechan. On 76 minutes the visitors took the lead when a Dylan Williams cross was headed out by Benji Crilley, but Scott Sinclair controlled and shot low into the net from just inside the area. Chesham immediately brought on Shane Bush and the move paid off when Bush glanced in a header from Jhai Dhillon’s cross to equalise on 81 minutes. In stoppage time a Matt Bevans corner was headed out as far as Jon-Jo Bates who shot well wide, and eventually both teams were forced to settle for a point apiece.
Benji Crilley 2 Jack Bradshaw
Jhai Dhillon 3 Johnny Herd
Matt Bevans 4 Luke Knight
Kieran Murphy 5 Tom Wood
Jon-Jo Bates 6 Taylor Parr
David Hutton 7 Dion Sembie-Ferris
Zack Reynolds 8 Harry O'Malley
Lewis Toomey 9 Tom Meechan
Scott McGleish 10 Dylan Williams
Oran Swales 11 Scott Sinclair
Ty Ward 12 Liam McDevitt
Shane Bush 14 Andre Williams
Adam Pepera 15 Jonny Butler
Ahmed El-Sahib 16 -
- 17 -
Used Substitutes
El-Sahib for McGleish 68   McDevitt for O'Malley 86
Bush for Hutton 77   Butler for Sinclair 90+2
Parr OG 12   Parr 16
Bush 81   Sinclair 76
Dhillon 42    
Crilley 72    
Bevans 90+4    
Sent Off